Supporting and developing the professionalisation of youth ministry around the world

 
Log in
Login

Online colloquium January 7th 2021

Thinking Theologically about Youth Ministry in Times of Upheaval

This year has upended all of our assumptions about life and ministry. The Covid-19 pandemic, political rivalry, and civil unrest have presented new issues for the Church, especially for young people. Many are suffering; church meetings have been displaced; and our vocabulary has stretched to include phrases like Zoom-fatigue. Certainly this experience calls for new thinking about church practice, but does it also cause us to revisit our theological assumptions? How do the events of this year color the way we view Christian anthropology? Our ecclesiology? And what does it mean for the Missio Dei? These times demand our best research, excellence in theological reflection, and fresh praxis that guides us in the new days coming for God’s people.

The IASYM online colloquium replaces the postponed Atlanta conference. It consists of four block divided by regions. You're welcome to participate in one or multiple regions. The three regions are Asia/Australia, Africa/Europe, and America. After the American session there will be an international session. The three regional sessions each convers three hours and consist of:

  • Welcome
  • 30 minutes Pre-recorded colloquium over the theme: “Thinking Theologically about Youth Ministry in Times of Upheaval” by Beth Corrie (US), Garth Aziz (Africa), and Graham Stanton (Aus)
  • 15 minutes Open colloquium
  • Three parallel streams of two times one hour sessions (in total six presentations and colloquiums). Each stream consists of
    • 20 minutes presentation
    • 30 minutes open colloquium
    • 10 minutes break

After the African/European and the International sessions there is an optional session for graduate students.

Link to the PDF with all abstracts.

Each regional session has a chair and a technical host. Contact the regional technical host (see each session page) if you have issues connecting. If you experience troubles with the website contact the webmaster Christian Noval (e-mail). 

CLICK on the corresponding link below to access the four sessions:

Schedule 23:00 TO 2:00 GMT

SGT (Singapore) 07:00

AETD (Sydney) 10:00

EAT (Nairobi) 02:00 (January 6th)

CET (Europe) 00:00 (January 6th)

EST (East Coast) 18:00 (January 6th)

PST (Pacific) 15:00 (January 6th)

Schedule 8:00 TO 11:00 GMT

SGT (Singapore) 16:00

AETD (Sydney) 19:00

EAT (Nairobi) 11:00

CET (Europe) 09:00

EST (East Coast) 03:00

PST (Pacific) 00:00

Schedule 17:00 TO 20:00 GMT

SGT (Singapore) 01:00

AETD (Sydney) 04:00

EAT (Nairobi) 20:00

CET (Europe) 18:00

EST (East Coast) 12:00

PST (Pacific) 09:00

Schedule 20:30 TO 22:00 GMT

SGT (Singapore) 04:30 (January 8th)

AETD (Sydney) 07:30 (January 8th)

EAT (Nairobi) 23:30

CET (Europe) 21:30

EST (East Coast) 15:30

PST (Pacific) 12:30

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software